Loading Scores...


Qualification Rules

March 5, 2015

In 2014-15, the AHL will have 16 teams participating in the postseason.

Eight teams in each conference shall qualify for the 2015 Calder Cup Playoffs. The three division winners in each conference will be seeded first through third (in order of regular-season points) and the next five best teams (in order of regular-season points) will be seeded fourth through eighth.

Home ice advantage in the Conference Quarterfinals is granted to those teams seeded first through fourth in each conference.

In the Conference Semifinals and Conference Finals, teams will be reseeded according to the same criteria as the Conference Quarterfinals (division leaders will be seeded first and granted home ice advantage while remaining teams will be seeded in order of regular-season points).

Home ice advantage in the Calder Cup Finals will be determined by the higher number of points in the final standings at the end of the Schedule of Championship Games.

The conference quarterfinals will be best-of-five series. All other series are in a best-of-seven format.

Following are the tiebreaking procedures used in the event of a tie in points in the standings, regardless of division, following the completion of the regular season. (Prior to the end of the regular season, the team with fewer games played is ranked higher in the event of a tie in points.) When a tie among three or more teams is broken resulting in a two-team tie, the original tiebreaking method is used.

Between two teams:
a) wins (excluding shootouts)
b) points in season series between teams
c) goal differential
d) goals scored in season series between teams
e) intra-conference points percentage

Among three or more teams:
a) wins (excluding shootouts)
b) points percentage in combined season series
c) goal differential
d) goal differential in combined season series
e) intra-conference points percentage

View the Archives