albany64 bakersfield64 binghamton64 bridgeport64 charlotte64 chicago64 cleveland64 grandrapids64 hartford64 hershey64 iowa64 lehighvalley64 manitoba64 milwaukee64 ontario64 providence64 rochester64 rockford64 sanantonio64 sandiego64 sanjose64 springfield64 stjohns64 stockton64 syracuse64 texas64 toronto64 tucson64 utica64 wbs64
Loading Scoreboard...

Rampage win first division title

The San Antonio Rampage won the first division championship in franchise history on Friday night, clinching the top spot in the West Division and earning the AHL’s John D. Chick Trophy.

San Antonio defeated Grand Rapids, 2-0, then watched as Hamilton completed a 4-3 win over Texas to guarantee the Rampage first place in their division for the first time in the franchise’s 13 seasons.

Under head coach Tom Rowe, the Rampage, who had never finished higher than third in their division before this season, sit at 45-21-5-1 (96 points) with four games remaining in the regular season. San Antonio leads the entire Western Conference, one point ahead of Utica, two up on Grand Rapids and three clear of Rockford. This is also the first-ever division title for a Florida Panthers AHL affiliate.

Named after the former AHL vice president and treasurer, the John D. Chick Trophy was first awarded in 1961-62 and is one of the league’s oldest trophies.