albany64 bakersfield64 binghamton64 bridgeport64 charlotte64 chicago64 cleveland64 grandrapids64 hartford64 hershey64 iowa64 lehighvalley64 manitoba64 milwaukee64 ontario64 providence64 rochester64 rockford64 sanantonio64 sandiego64 sanjose64 springfield64 stjohns64 stockton64 syracuse64 texas64 toronto64 tucson64 utica64 wbs64
Loading Scoreboard...

Stars lock up overall points crown

By virtue of their 2-1 win over the Oklahoma City Barons on Wednesday night, the Texas Stars clinched the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy as the AHL’s regular-season points champions for 2013-14.

The Stars will be the top seed in the Western Conference during the 2014 Calder Cup Playoffs — their second year in a row as #1 in the West — and will own home-ice advantage for as long as they advance.

This is the Stars’ first Kilpatrick Trophy, and comes in the franchise’s fifth season of play.

At 48-17-3-7 (106 points), Texas has set team records for wins and points with one game still remaining on its regular-season schedule. The Stars have gone 91-39-8-13 in two seasons under head coach Willie Desjardins.