The 2021-22 AHL schedule is here! Details

2012 All-Star rosters unveiled

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star rosters for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic, to take place Jan. 29-30 at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J.

Each team comprises 24 players – 13 forwards, eight defensemen and three goaltenders. Rosters were determined by committees of AHL coaches, and all 30 AHL teams are represented by at least one All-Star.

The 2012 squads feature 34 first-time AHL All-Stars, 13 rookies and 20 players who have skated in the National Hockey League already this season, including standout first-year players Cam Atkinson of the Springfield Falcons, Andy Miele of the Portland Pirates, Cade Fairchild of the Peoria Rivermen and Gustav Nyquist of the Grand Rapids Griffins. A total of 13 former first- and second-round draft picks were also named All-Stars, among them Milwaukee’s Ryan Ellis, Manchester’s Thomas Hickey, Syracuse’s Kyle Palmieri, Bridgeport’s Calvin de Haan, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton’s Simon Despres, Oklahoma City’s Alex Plante and Toronto’s Joe Colborne and Nazem Kadri.

Players returning to the AHL All-Star Classic include AHL leading scorer Keith Aucoin of Hershey and reigning AHL MVP Corey Locke of Binghamton, both of whom will tie an AHL record with their sixth career All-Star appearance.

St. John’s IceCaps head coach Keith McCambridge and Oklahoma City Barons head coach Todd Nelson will guide the Eastern and Western Conference All-Stars, respectively, after their teams finished play on Jan. 1 with the best records in their conferences.

From Jan. 5-23, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the starting lineups for the 2012 AHL All-Star Game by visiting or and completing the official Reebok AHL All-Star Fan Ballot. Voters will also be entered to win a grand prize of a team-signed authentic 2012 AHL All-Star jersey, and five more winners will each receive a pair of tickets to the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition and All-Star Game, courtesy of Insurance Office of America.

Tickets for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic – which include admission to both the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition at 3 p.m. on Sunday, January 29, and the 2012 AHL All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Monday, January 30 – are on sale now at the Boardwalk Hall box office, all Ticketmaster locations, by calling (800) 736-1420 or at Tickets are also available for the Post-Skills Party (January 29, 5:30 p.m.) and the 2012 AHL Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony (January 30, 11 a.m.) at Caesars Atlantic City.

The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in an internationally televised showcase from historic Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City. Of the 562 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Dan Boyle, Daniel Briere, Ryan Callahan, Brian Campbell, Zdeno Chara, Jimmy Howard, Miikka Kiprusoff, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Pekka Rinne, Bobby Ryan, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal, P.K. Subban and Tomas Vokoun.

The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic is presented by the Atlantic City Convention & Visitors Authority, Caesars Entertainment, the Casino Reinvestment Development Authority and the American Hockey League. For destination information about Atlantic City, please visit

2012 AHL Eastern Conference All-Star Team
Michael Leighton, Adirondack PhantomsCam Atkinson, Springfield Falcons
Tyson Sexsmith, Worcester SharksKeith Aucoin, Hershey Bears
Jeff Zatkoff, Manchester MonarchsJonathan Audy-Marchessault, Connecticut Whale
 Chris Bourque, Hershey Bears
DefensemenCarter Camper, Providence Bruins
Mark Barberio, Norfolk AdmiralsCory Conacher, Norfolk Admirals
Calvin de Haan, Bridgeport Sound TigersBoyd Kane, Hershey Bears ("C")
Simon Despres, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton PenguinsCorey Locke, Binghamton Senators
Thomas Hickey, Manchester MonarchsColin McDonald, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
Matt Irwin, Worcester SharksAndy Miele, Portland Pirates
Paul Postma, St. John’s IceCapsKyle Palmieri, Syracuse Crunch
Zach Redmond, St. John’s IceCapsTrevor Smith, Norfolk Admirals
Matt Taormina, Albany DevilsMats Zuccarello, Connecticut Whale

2012 AHL Western Conference All-Star Team
Yann Danis, Oklahoma City BaronsJoe Colborne, Toronto Marlies
Cedrick Desjardins, Lake Erie MonstersPhilippe Cornet, Oklahoma City Barons
Matt Hackett, Houston AerosJon DiSalvatore, Houston Aeros
 Matt Fraser, Texas Stars
DefensemenDarren Haydar, Chicago Wolves ("C")
Kevin Connauton, Chicago WolvesT.J. Hensick, Peoria Rivermen
Ryan Ellis, Milwaukee AdmiralsNazem Kadri, Toronto Marlies
Cade Fairchild, Peoria RivermenKrys Kolanos, Abbotsford Heat
Brayden McNabb, Rochester AmericansJon Matsumoto, Charlotte Checkers
Alex Plante, Oklahoma City BaronsChris Mueller, Milwaukee Admirals
Colby Robak, San Antonio RampageGustav Nyquist, Grand Rapids Griffins
Frederic St. Denis, Hamilton BulldogsBrandon Pirri, Rockford IceHogs
Clay Wilson, Abbotsford HeatJerome Samson, Charlotte Checkers