2013 All-Star rosters announced

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star rosters for the 2013 Dunkin’ Donuts AHL All-Star Classic, to take place Jan. 27-28 in Providence, R.I.

Each team comprises 24 players: 13 forwards, eight defensemen and three goaltenders. Rosters were determined by committees of AHL coaches, and all 30 AHL teams are represented by at least one All-Star.

The 2013 squads feature 33 first-time AHL All-Stars, 12 rookies and 12 former first- and second-round draft choices, including standouts Jason Zucker of the Houston Aeros, Tyler Toffoli of the Manchester Monarchs, Beau Bennett of the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins, Tim Erixon of the Springfield Falcons, David Rundblad of the Portland Pirates and Nino Niederreiter of the Bridgeport Sound Tigers.

Luke Richardson of the Binghamton Senators and Jon Cooper of the Syracuse Crunch will coach the Eastern Conference All-Star team; Dallas Eakins of the Toronto Marlies and Jeff Daniels of the Charlotte Checkers will guide the Western Conference club.

Beginning Friday and until Jan. 24, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the starting lineups for the 2013 AHL All-Star Game by visiting facebook.com/theahl and completing the official CCM AHL All-Star Fan Ballot. Voters will also be entered to win prizes of a team-signed 2013 AHL All-Star stick (two) and team-signed 2013 AHL All-Star commemorative programs (10).

Tickets for the 2013 Dunkin’ Donuts AHL All-Star Classic are on sale now by calling the Providence Bruins at (401) 273-5000 or visiting www.providencebruins.com. All-Star 2-Packs are $55 and $75 and include admission to both the 2013 Pepsi AHL All-Star Skills Competition at 7 p.m. on Sunday, January 27, and the 2013 AHL All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Monday, January 28. All-Star 4-Packs are $75 and $100 and include admission to the Skills Competition and the All-Star Game, as well as the Post-Skills Party (January 27, 9:30 p.m.) at the Rhode Island Convention Center and the 2013 AHL Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony (January 28, 11 a.m.) at the Veterans Memorial Auditorium.

The 2013 Dunkin’ Donuts AHL All-Star Classic in Providence will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League. Of the 597 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since the event was reinstated in 1995, more than 92 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Daniel Briere, Dustin Brown, Ryan Callahan, Mike Cammalleri, Zdeno Chara, Miikka Kiprusoff, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Tuukka Rask, Pekka Rinne, Bobby Ryan, Martin St. Louis, Cory Schneider, Jason Spezza and Eric Staal.

2013 AHL Eastern Conference All-Star Team
Robin Lehner, Binghamton SenatorsJonathan Audy-Marchessault, Springfield Falcons
Curtis McElhinney, Springfield FalconsBeau Bennett, W-B/Scranton Penguins
Niklas Svedberg, Providence BruinsAlexandre Bolduc, Portland Pirates
 Chris Bourque, Providence Bruins
DefensemenBobby Butler, Albany Devils
Mark Barberio, Syracuse CrunchPeter Holland, Norfolk Admirals
Andre Benoit, Binghamton SenatorsTyler Johnson, Syracuse Crunch
Matt Donovan, Bridgeport Sound TigersTim Kennedy, Worcester Sharks
Tim Erixon, Springfield FalconsChad Kolarik, Connecticut Whale
Erik Gustafsson, Adirondack PhantomsNino Niederreiter, Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Tomas Kundratek, Hershey BearsRichard Panik, Syracuse Crunch
Zach Redmond, St. John’s IceCapsTyler Toffoli, Manchester Monarchs
David Rundblad, Portland PiratesTrent Whitfield, Providence Bruins ("C")

2013 AHL Western Conference All-Star Team
Barry Brust, Abbotsford HeatAndrew Agozzino, Lake Erie Monsters
Petr Mrazek, Grand Rapids GriffinsMark Arcobello, Oklahoma City Barons
Justin Peters, Charlotte CheckersMatt Fraser, Texas Stars
 Brendan Gallagher, Hamilton Bulldogs
DefensemenRyan Hamilton, Toronto Marlies
Victor Bartley, Milwaukee AdmiralsQuintin Laing, Abbotsford Heat ("C")
Chad Billins, Grand Rapids GriffinsGustav Nyquist, Grand Rapids Griffins
Adam Clendening, Rockford IceHogsKevin Porter, Rochester Americans
Mark Cundari, Peoria RivermenMartin St. Pierre, Rockford IceHogs
Michal Jordan, Charlotte CheckersMike Sgarbossa, Lake Erie Monsters
Mike Kostka, Toronto MarliesDrew Shore, San Antonio Rampage
Brayden McNabb, Rochester AmericansBrett Sterling, Chicago Wolves
Jamie Oleksiak, Texas StarsJason Zucker, Houston Aeros