2016-17 Man of the Year team winners named

Photo: Springfield Thunderbirds

ioa-amspecSPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the individual team winners of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year awards, selected by their respective clubs for their outstanding contributions to the local community and charitable organizations during the 2016-17 season.

From this list of finalists, representatives from IOA/American Specialty and the AHL will choose the winner of the 2016-17 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award. The AHL’s annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupre, who died in 1997 at the age of 24 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre, an AHL All-Star in 1995, played four seasons with the Hershey Bears and also skated in 35 National Hockey League games with the Philadelphia Flyers.

This year’s winners of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year awards are:

Rod Pelley, Albany Devils (1st-time winner)
Bryce Aneloski, Bakersfield Condors (1st)
Matt O’Connor, Binghamton Senators (1st)
Kyle Burroughs, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (1st)
Kyle Hagel, Charlotte Checkers (7th)
Brett Sterling, Chicago Wolves (3rd)
Jaime Sifers, Cleveland Monsters (1st)
Nathan Paetsch, Grand Rapids Griffins (1st)
Chris Brown, Hartford Wolf Pack (1st)
Liam O’Brien, Hershey Bears (1st)
Alex Tuch, Iowa Wild (1st)
Danick Martel, Lehigh Valley Phantoms (1st)
Eric Comrie, Manitoba Moose (1st)
Jack Dougherty, Milwaukee Admirals (1st)
Vincent LoVerde, Ontario Reign (1st)
Tommy Cross, Providence Bruins (1st)
Mac Bennett, Rochester Americans (1st)
Pierre-Cedric Labrie, Rockford IceHogs (1st)
David Broll, St. John’s IceCaps (1st)
A.J. Greer, San Antonio Rampage (1st)
Jordan Samuels-Thomas, San Diego Gulls (1st)
Troy Grosenick, San Jose Barracuda (1st)
Ian McCoshen, Springfield Thunderbirds (1st)
Mark Jankowski, Stockton Heat (1st)
Matt Taormina, Syracuse Crunch (1st)
Brandon DeFazio, Texas Stars (5th)
Richard Clune, Toronto Marlies (1st)
Brandon Burlon, Tucson Roadrunners (1st)
Derek Hulak, Utica Comets (3rd)
Cameron Gaunce, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (1st)

The winner of the 2016-17 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced at a later date.