9 former AHL All-Stars named to NHL All-Star Game

nhl-allstar09_200.jpgNine former American Hockey League All-Stars are among the 23 AHL alumni selected to participate in the 2009 NHL All-Star Game in Montreal later this month.

Chicago Blackhawks defenseman Brian Campbell (a 2001 AHL All-Star) and Montreal Canadiens defenseman Mike Komisarek (2003) were voted to the starting lineups for the Jan. 25 game.

Campbell will be joined on the Western Conference squad by San Jose’s Dan Boyle, an AHL All-Star in 1999 and 2000, and by Los Angeles Kings forward Dustin Brown, who represented Manchester at the 2005 AHL All-Star Classic.

Komisarek, Boston’s Zdeno Chara (1998) and Florida’s Jay Bouwmeester (2005) will be on the blue line for the Eastern Conference, while forwards Marc Savard of Boston (1998), Eric Staal of Carolina (2005) and Zach Parise of New Jersey (2005) will be up front.

Other notable AHL graduates named to the event include 2007 Calder Cup Playoffs MVP Carey Price, 2005 Calder Cup champion Jeff Carter and 2005 AHL All-Rookie forward Thomas Vanek.