AHL alumni elected into HHOF

Jim Gregory, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee, announced that American Hockey League alumni Patrick Roy and Herbert Brooks have been elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame. Roy has been elected in to the Hall in the Player Category and Brooks to the the Builder Category.


This year’s inductions bring the total number of AHL alumni in the Hockey Hall of Fame to 106.


Selected in the 3rd round (51st overall) in the 1984 NHL Entry Draft, Patrick Roy made his professional debut in the American Hockey League as member of the Sherbrooke Canadiens during the 1984-85 season. He played in 13 post-season contests that season, helping Sherbrooke to the Calder Cup Championship.


Roy would go on to play 11 seasons in the National Hockey League and was a member of 4 Stanley Cup Champion teams, finishing his career with 551 wins and a 2.53 goals against average in 1,029 games. He won the Conn Smyth Trophy (Playoff MVP) in 1986, 1990, and 1992, and was a three time winner of the Vezina Trophy (1989, 1990, 1992).


Herb Brooks was the Head Coach of the Utica Devils during the 1991-92 season, leading the Devils to the 1st round of the Calder Cup Playoffs with a 34-40-6 record during the regular season. Brooks is most well known for coaching the 1980 "Miracle on Ice", leading the 1980 U.S. Olympic team to the gold medal.