AHL announces 2008-09 Man of the Year team winners

ahl06_200.jpgSPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the individual team winners of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year awards, selected by their respective clubs for their outstanding contributions to the local community and charitable organizations during the 2008-09 season.

From this list of finalists, representatives from American Specialty and the AHL will choose the winner of the 2008-09 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award. The AHL’s annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupre, who died in 1997 at the age of 24, following a 16-month battle with leukemia.

Dupre, an AHL All-Star in 1995, played four seasons with the Hershey Bears, registering 169 points in 207 AHL games. He also skated in 35 NHL games with the Philadelphia Flyers.

This year’s winners of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year awards are:

Casey Borer, Albany River Rats
Denis Hamel and Matt Carkner, Binghamton Senators
Pascal Morency, Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Jordan LaVallee, Chicago Wolves
Jimmy Howard, Grand Rapids Griffins
Ben Maxwell, Hamilton Bulldogs
Dale Weise, Hartford Wolf Pack
Dean Arsene, Hershey Bears
Brandon Rogers, Houston Aeros
Ryan Donally, Iowa Chops
J.D. Corbin, Lake Erie Monsters
Mark Fraser, Lowell Devils
Davis Drewiske, Manchester Monarchs
Nolan Baumgartner, Manitoba Moose
Ryan Maki, Milwaukee Admirals
Pete Zingoni, Norfolk Admirals
Eric Neilson, Peoria Rivermen
Jonathan Matsumoto, Philadelphia Phantoms
Derek Whitmore, Portland Pirates
Jeff Penner, Providence Bruins
Kyle Greentree, Quad City Flames
Rory Fitzpatrick, Rochester Americans
Sean McMorrow, Rockford IceHogs
Ryan Lannon, San Antonio Rampage
Geoff Paukovich, Springfield Falcons
Trevor Frischmon, Syracuse Crunch
Darryl Boyce, Toronto Marlies
Mark Letestu, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
Mike Moore, Worcester Sharks

The winner of the 2008-09 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced in the coming weeks.