AHL announces Man of the Year finalists

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the individual team winners of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year awards, given to one player from each AHL member team for his outstanding contributions to his local community and charitable organizations during the 2005-06 season.

From this list of 27 finalists, representatives from American Specialty and the AHL will choose the winner of the 2005-06 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award. The AHL’s annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupre, who died in August 1997 at the age of 24, following a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre, an AHL All-Star in 1995, played four seasons with the Hershey Bears, registering 169 points in 207 AHL games. He also skated in 35 NHL games with the Philadelphia Flyers.

Headquartered in Roanoke, Ind., American Specialty is the industry leader in providing risk services for the sports and entertainment industry.

This year’s winners of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year awards are:

  • David Clarkson, Albany River Rats
  • Denis Hamel, Binghamton Senators
  • Jody Robinson, Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Karl Stewart, Chicago Wolves
  • Matt Carkner, Cleveland Barons
  • Bryan Helmer, Grand Rapids Griffins
  • Corey Locke, Hamilton Bulldogs
  • Alexandre Giroux, Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Dean Arsene, Hershey Bears
  • Curtis Murphy, Houston Aeros
  • Francis Wathier, Iowa Stars
  • Ryan Steeves, Lowell Lock Monsters
  • Adam Hauser, Manchester Monarchs
  • Mike Keane, Manitoba Moose
  • Darren Haydar, Milwaukee Admirals
  • Mike Brown, Norfolk Admirals
  • Brett Palin, Omaha Ak-Sar-Ben Knights
  • Mike Stuart, Peoria Rivermen
  • Charlie Cook, Philadelphia Phantoms
  • Curtis Glencross, Portland Pirates
  • Jonathan Sigalet, Providence Bruins
  • Sean McMorrow, Rochester Americans
  • Joe Callahan, San Antonio Rampage
  • Mitch Fritz, Springfield Falcons
  • Aaron Johnson, Syracuse Crunch
  • Marc Moro, Toronto Marlies
  • Ryan Lannon, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins


    The winner of the 2005-06 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced later this month.