The 2021-22 AHL schedule is here! Details

AHL Hall of Fame inducts Class of 2009

AHLHOF_200.jpgWORCESTER, Mass. … The American Hockey League today formally inducted four new members into its American Hockey League Hall of Fame.

The ceremony took place during the Hockey Hall of Fame/AHL All-Star Classic Luncheon at the DCU Center in Worcester, part of the festivities that are making up the 2009 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Charter Communications.

Honored for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the American Hockey League were Bruce Boudreau, one of the AHL’s all-time scoring leaders with 799 career points and a Calder Cup champion as head coach with the Hershey Bears; Jimmy Anderson, a member of the AHL’s top 10 in goals, points and games played and a member of three Calder Cup winners in Springfield; Les Cunningham, considered the first AHL superstar during his tenure in Cleveland from 1936-47; and Louis A.R. Pieri, the long-time owner and general manager of the storied Providence Reds franchise. Cunningham and Pieri were inducted posthumously.

In a unique effort to make the rich tradition of the American Hockey League available to the widest possible audience, the AHL Hall of Fame is housed on-line at and is accessible to fans worldwide with the click of a mouse as a member of the AHL Internet Network.

Now in its 73rd season of play, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 82 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates.