AHL Hall of Fame inducts Class of 2015

UTICA, N.Y. … The American Hockey League today formally inducted four new members into its American Hockey League Hall of Fame

The AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony took place in the Showroom at Turning Stone Resort Casino in Verona, N.Y., as part of the festivities that are making up the 2015 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino. 

Honored for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the American Hockey League were Frederic Cassivi, who ranks fifth among all AHL goaltenders with 232 career victories; James C. Hendy, a four-time Calder Cup champion as general manager of the Cleveland Barons and a noted hockey historian; Bronco Horvath, a gifted offensive player who anchored the Rochester Americans’ dynasty of the 1960’s; and Art Stratton, a two-time AHL MVP whose 555 career assists rank sixth in league history. 

Utica Comets broadcaster Brendan Burke served the master of ceremonies for the event. Burke will join John Bartlett and Bob McGill on the call of tonight’s AHL All-Star Game, airing live on Sportsnet throughout Canada and on a comprehensive network of regional networks in the U.S. 

In an effort to make the rich tradition of the American Hockey League available to the widest possible audience, the AHL Hall of Fame is housed on-line at www.ahlhalloffame.com and is accessible to fans worldwide with the click of a mouse as a member of the AHL Internet Network. 

Formed in 1936 and now in its 79th season of operation, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates.