AHL Hall of Fame inducts Class of 2016

SYRACUSE, N.Y. … The American Hockey League today formally inducted four new members into its American Hockey League Hall of Fame.

The AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony took place at the Crouse Hinds Theater in Syracuse, N.Y., as part of the festivities that are making up the 2016 Toyota AHL All-Star Classic.

Honored for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the American Hockey League were Bruce Cline, a four-time Calder Cup champion and member of the Springfield Indians’ dynasty in the 1960’s; Ralph Keller, a stalwart two-way defenseman known for his time as captain of the Hershey Bears; Jean-Francois Labbe, a two-time Calder Cup champion and one of the winningest goaltenders in AHL history; and Bruce Landon, whose tenure as a player and executive has made him synonymous with AHL hockey in Springfield, Mass.

John Bartlett, the television voice of the Montreal Canadiens on Sportsnet, served as the master of ceremonies for the event. Bartlett will join Bob McGill and Dan D’Uva on the call of tonight’s AHL All-Star Challenge, airing live on Sportsnet ONE throughout Canada and on a comprehensive network of regional networks in the U.S.

In an effort to make the rich tradition of the American Hockey League available to the widest possible audience, the AHL Hall of Fame is housed on-line at www.ahlhalloffame.com and is accessible to fans worldwide with the click of a mouse as a member of the AHL Internet Network.

Formed in 1936 and now in its 80th season of operation, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates.