AHL Hall of Fame welcomes Class of 2013

PROVIDENCE, R.I. … The American Hockey League today formally inducted four new members into its American Hockey League Hall of Fame.

The AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony took place at the Veterans Memorial Auditorium in downtown Providence as part of the festivities that are making up the 2013 Dunkin’ Donuts AHL All-Star Classic.

Honored for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the American Hockey League were Harvey Bennett, a standout goaltender who was one of the premier figures in the history of the Providence Reds and hockey in Rhode Island; Ken Gernander, whose 22 years as a player and coach in the AHL have included captaining the Hartford Wolf Pack to the 2000 Calder Cup championship; Jim Morrison, a defenseman who was named to more postseason AHL All-Star teams (eight) than any player in league history; and Peter White, a three-time scoring champion and two-time Calder Cup winner with the Cape Breton Oilers and Philadelphia Phantoms.

Former AHL broadcaster Tom Caron of the New England Sports Network served the master of ceremonies for the event. Caron will lead the on-air team for the call of tonight’s AHL All-Star Game, airing live on Sportsnet throughout Canada, on a comprehensive network of regional networks in the U.S., on ESPN America overseas and on AHL Live (ahllive.com).

The AHL Hall of Fame is housed on-line at www.ahlhalloffame.com and is accessible to fans worldwide with the click of a mouse as a member of the AHL Internet Network.

Formed in 1936 and now in its 77th season of operation, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams.