AHL Hall of Fame welcomes Class of 2014

ST. JOHN’S, N.L. … The American Hockey League today formally inducted four new members into its American Hockey League Hall of Fame.

The AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony took place at the St. John’s Convention Centre as part of the festivities that are making up the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Assante Wealth Management.

Honored for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the American Hockey League were Bill Dineen, a four-time 20-goal scorer in the AHL who later won two Calder Cups as head coach of the Adirondack Red Wings; Al MacNeil, a three-time Calder Cup champion coach whose .646 winning percentage is the highest in league history; Bob Perreault, who won 229 games and four Calder Cups during his goaltending career; and St. John’s native John Slaney, one of the most prolific AHL defensemen ever.

Sportsnet’s Rob Faulds served the master of ceremonies for the event. Faulds will join R.J. Broadhead and Sam Cosentino on the call of tonight’s AHL All-Star Game, airing live on Sportsnet ONE throughout Canada and on a comprehensive network of regional networks in the U.S. The game will feature a team of American Hockey League All-Stars taking on Färjestad BK, one of the premier teams in the Swedish Hockey League.

In an effort to make the rich tradition of the American Hockey League available to the widest possible audience, the AHL Hall of Fame is housed on-line at www.ahlhalloffame.com and is accessible to fans worldwide with the click of a mouse as a member of the AHL Internet Network.

Formed in 1936 and now in its 78th season of operation, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates.