AHL Man of the Year team winners announced

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the individual team winners of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year awards, selected by their respective clubs for their outstanding contributions to the local community and charitable organizations during the 2012-13 season.

From this list of finalists, representatives from IOA/American Specialty and the AHL will choose the winner of the 2012-13 Yanick Dupré Memorial Award. The AHL’s annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupré, who died in 1997 at the age of 24, following a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupré, an AHL All-Star in 1995, played four seasons with the Hershey Bears and also skated in 35 National Hockey League games with the Philadelphia Flyers.

This year’s winners of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year awards are:

Zach McKelvie, Abbotsford Heat
Zack FitzGerald, Adirondack Phantoms
Jay Leach, Albany Devils
Hugh Jessiman, Binghamton Senators
Brandon DeFazio, Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Sean Dolan, Charlotte Checkers
Brett Sterling, Chicago Wolves
Kelsey Tessier, Connecticut Whale
Chad Billins, Grand Rapids Griffins
Kyle Hagel, Hamilton Bulldogs
Boyd Kane, Hershey Bears
Drew Bagnall, Houston Aeros
Barry Goers, Lake Erie Monsters
Andrew Campbell, Manchester Monarchs
Mark Van Guilder, Milwaukee Admirals
John Kurtz, Norfolk Admirals
Alex Plante, Oklahoma City Barons
Mike McKenna, Peoria Rivermen
Brett Hextall, Portland Pirates
Bobby Robins, Providence Bruins
Evan Rankin, Rochester Americans
Jimmy Hayes, Rockford IceHogs
Justin Vaive, San Antonio Rampage
Nick Holden, Springfield Falcons
Jason Jaffray, St. John’s IceCaps
Eric Neilson, Syracuse Crunch
Toby Petersen, Texas Stars
Mike Zigomanis, Toronto Marlies
Joey Mormina, W-B/Scranton Penguins
Nick Petrecki, Worcester Sharks

The winner of the 2012-13 Yanick Dupré Memorial Award will be announced on Apr. 18.