AHL names 2006-07 winners of excellence awards

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews has announced the 2006-07 recipients of three awards for excellence and service to the league. The announcement came Thursday at the closing reception and awards dinner to conclude the league’s annual meeting of the Board of Governors at Hilton Head Island, S.C.

miceli_200.jpgFrank Miceli, chief operating officer of the Philadelphia Phantoms, has been honored with the Thomas Ebright Award in recognition of career contributions to the AHL. Since the Phantoms’ inception in 1996, Miceli has built the team into one of the league’s model franchises, and his creativity and insight have always resulted in positive contributions to the overall success of the league. Miceli has overseen many successful ticketing, marketing and customer service initiatives with the Phantoms, and has been a tremendous ally to all of the AHL’s member clubs by sharing those programs with his colleagues. He has also led several committees on behalf of the American Hockey League, including serving as chairman of the AHL’s Executive Committee in 2006-07.

The Thomas Ebright Award honors Tom Ebright, the former owner and governor of the Baltimore Skipjacks and Portland Pirates who passed away in 1997.

greenberg_200.jpgMilwaukee Admirals team president Jon Greenberg has been named the winner of the James C. Hendy Memorial Award as the outstanding executive in the American Hockey League for 2006-07. Greenberg has displayed exceptional leadership and strong dedication in turning the Admirals into one of the best-run organizations in the league. Under his guidance, Milwaukee has seen its attendance rise more than 15 percent over the last two seasons, while corporate sponsorships have more than doubled in that time. A former media relations director for the Milwaukee Brewers, Greenberg has also helped the Admirals garner significant media attention in a busy sports market.

The James C. Hendy Memorial Award is named for the late Jim Hendy, a Hockey Hall of Famer and long-time statistician and historian for the AHL who won four Calder Cups as general manager of the original Cleveland Barons.

boylan_200.jpgLinesman Leo Boylan has been named the recipient of the Michael Condon Memorial Award for outstanding contributions by an on-ice official. Boylan, a former protégé of Mike Condon’s, has served the AHL as a top official for the past 12 seasons, continuing the league’s long tradition of developing young officials for the future. He has played a major role during his career in contributing to the advancement of many of today’s NHL on-ice officials who graduated from the AHL ranks.

The Michael Condon Memorial Award was created in 2002 following the sudden passing of veteran linesman Mike Condon.