All-Star tickets on sale Saturday

The Grand Rapids Griffins on Tuesday announced that tickets for the 2004 Pepsi AHL All-Star Classic at Van Andel Arena will go on sale to the general public this Saturday, Nov. 1, at 10 a.m. EST.

The two-day event will consist of the AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Sunday, Feb. 8 at 7 p.m., followed by the AHL All-Star Game on Monday, Feb. 9 at 7 p.m. Tickets for either event are available only through the purchase of a skills competition/game combo ticket, with prices ranging from $27-$29 in the upper bowl to $34-$37 in the lower bowl.

Fans have several ways to purchase their combo tickets for the AHL All-Star Classic:

  • By phone, through Tickets PLUS at (616) 222-4000 or (800) 585-3737;
  • In person, at Tickets PLUS outlets, including West Michigan Meijer stores, and at The Zone store on the west side of Van Andel Arena;
  • By fax or mail, using an order form available in a special All-Star section of the Griffins’ web site.

    The AHL All-Star Game will once again feature a format pitting the Canadian AHL All-Stars against the PlanetUSA AHL All-Stars, a team comprised of the league’s top U.S. and European-born players. The AHL All-Star Skills Competition consists of players from both teams competing individually and as teams in seven different contests, including Puck Control Relay, Fastest Skater, Rapid Fire, Hardest Shot, Accuracy Shooting, Pass and Score, and Breakaway Relay.

    Tickets for special events and social functions surrounding the AHL All-Star Classic, including the All-Star Bash (Feb. 8), the Hall of Fame Luncheon (Feb. 9) and the Pub Tour (Feb. 9), are also available via the order form or by calling the Griffins office at (616) 774-4585 or (800) 2-HOCKEY.

    The AHL All-Star Classic annually features the top players from all 28 AHL teams. Of the 295 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 91 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Tyler Arnason, Daniel Briere, Andrew Brunette, Anson Carter, Zdeno Chara, Pavol Demitra, Mike Dunham, Patrik Elias, Manny Legace, Brendan Morrison, Vaclav Prospal, Dwayne Roloson, Marc Savard, Martin St. Louis, Steve Sullivan, Tomas Vokoun and Jason Williams.