Bourque wins Red Garrett Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that left wing Rene Bourque of the Norfolk Admirals has been named the winner of the Dudley “Red” Garrett Memorial Award as the AHL’s outstanding rookie for the 2004-05 season, as voted by AHL players and media in each of the league’s 28 member cities.

Bourque, a 23-year-old native of Lac La Biche, Alta., is currently second among AHL rookies with a franchise-record 33 goals and 60 points in 75 games with Norfolk this season. Bourque represented the Admirals at the 2005 Dodge AHL All-Star Classic, where he won the Hardest Shot event at the annual Skills Competition with a blast of 99.8 mph, and scored a goal for the Canadian team in the AHL All-Star Game. Bourque earned a spot on the 2004-05 AHL All-Rookie Team last week, and was named the Reebok AHL Rookie of the Month for January.

Bourque signed as a free agent with the Chicago Blackhawks on July 29, 2004, following four seasons at the University of Wisconsin (2000-04), where he led the Badgers in scoring in his junior and senior seasons. He scored a goal in his professional debut with Norfolk on Oct. 16 at Hershey, and has registered seven multiple-goal games for the Admirals this year, including his first career hat trick on Jan. 28 vs. Springfield.

This award, which was first presented by the AHL in 1947, honors the late Dudley “Red” Garrett, a promising young player who lost his life during World War II while serving in the Royal Canadian Navy. Garrett split his only pro season, 1942-43, between the AHL’s Providence Reds and the NHL’s New York Rangers. Previous winners of the Garrett Award include Terry Sawchuk (1949), Wally Hergesheimer (1951), Bill Sweeney (1958), Roger Crozier (1964), Gerry Desjardins (1968), Rick Middleton (1974), Darryl Sutter (1980), Pelle Lindbergh (1981), Steve Thomas (1985), Ron Hextall (1986), Brett Hull (1987), Donald Audette (1990), Felix Potvin (1992), Darcy Tucker (1996), Daniel Briere (1998), Mika Noronen (2000), Tyler Arnason (2002), Darren Haydar (2003) and Wade Dubielewicz (2004).

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. This season, nearly 6.4 million fans – an all-time league record – have attended AHL games to date, and 16 clubs will continue to vie for the league’s coveted championship trophy when the 2005 Calder Cup Playoffs get underway next week.

Dudley “Red” Garrett Memorial Award
Season Player
2004-05 Rene Bourque, Norfolk
2003-04 Wade Dubielewicz, Bridgeport
2002-03 Darren Haydar, Milwaukee
2001-02 Tyler Arnason, Norfolk
2000-01 Ryan Kraft, Kentucky
1999-2000 Mika Noronen, Rochester
1998-99 Shane Willis, New Haven
1997-98 Daniel Briere, Springfield
1996-97 Jaroslav Svejkovsky, Portland
1995-96 Darcy Tucker, Fredericton
1994-95 Jim Carey, Portland
1993-94 Rene Corbet, Cornwall
1992-93 Corey Hirsch, Binghamton
1991-92 Felix Potvin, St. John’s
1990-91 Patrick Lebeau, Fredericton
1989-90 Donald Audette, Rochester
1988-89 Stephan Lebeau, Sherbrooke
1987-88 Mike Richard, Binghamton
1986-87 Brett Hull, Moncton
1985-86 Ron Hextall, Hershey
1984-85 Steve Thomas, St. Catharines
1983-84 Claude Verret, Rochester
1982-83 Mitch Lamoureux, Baltimore
1981-82 Bob Sullivan, Binghamton
1980-81 Pelle Lindbergh, Maine
1979-80 Darryl Sutter, New Brunswick
1978-79 Mike Meeker, Binghamton
1977-78 Norm Dupont, Nova Scotia
1976-77 Rod Schutt, Nova Scotia
1975-76 Greg Holst, Providence;
Pierre Mondou, Nova Scotia (tie)
1974-75 Jerry Holland, Providence
1973-74 Rick Middleton, Providence
1972-73 Ron Anderson, Boston
1971-72 Terry Caffery, Cleveland
1970-71 Fred Speck, Baltimore
1969-70 Jude Drouin, Montreal
1968-69 Ron Ward, Rochester
1967-68 Gerry Desjardins, Cleveland
1966-67 Bob Rivard, Quebec
1965-66 Mike Walton, Rochester
1964-65 Ray Cullen, Buffalo
1963-64 Roger Crozier, Pittsburgh
1962-63 Doug Robinson, Buffalo
1961-62 Les Binkley, Cleveland
1960-61 Chico Maki, Buffalo
1959-60 Stan Baluik, Providence
1958-59 Bill Hicke, Rochester
1957-58 Bill Sweeney, Providence
1956-57 Bo Elik, Cleveland
1955-56 Bruce Cline, Providence
1954-55 Jimmy Anderson, Springfield
1953-54 Don Marshall, Buffalo
1952-53 Guyle Fielder, St. Louis
1951-52 Earl Reibel, Indianapolis
1950-51 Wally Hergesheimer, Cleveland
1949-50 Paul Meger, Buffalo
1948-49 Terry Sawchuk, Indianapolis
1947-48 Bob Solinger, Cleveland