Boyle, Bunting added to All-Star roster

Photos: Jon Hayt, Kate Dibildox

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today several changes to the playing rosters for the 2019 Lexus AHL All-Star Classic presented by MGM Springfield, to be held this Sunday and Monday, January 27-28, in Springfield, Mass.

San Diego Gulls goaltender Kevin Boyle and Tucson Roadrunners forward Michael Bunting have been added to the Pacific Division roster for this weekend’s event. They replace Colorado’s Pavel Francouz and San Diego’s Troy Terry, who will be unavailable for the event.

Boyle (16-6-1, 2.84, .909) is tied for second in the AHL in victories this season, including a personal 10-game winning streak from Dec. 15 to Jan. 12. Bunting has notched 26 points and a plus-16 rating in 27 games for Tucson while also making his NHL debut with the Arizona Coyotes.

Rosters as of Jan. 24





A limited number of tickets for the 2019 Lexus AHL All-Star Classic presented by MGM Springfield are still available at Priced at $39, $49, $59 and $99, tickets include admission to both the Skills Competition on Sunday (7 p.m.) and the All-Star Challenge on Monday (7 p.m.). The event will be televised live on NHL Network in the United States and on Sportsnet ONE and Sportsnet NOW in Canada, and will stream on AHLTV.

The All-Star Classic also includes the AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, to be held Monday morning (11 a.m.) at MGM Springfield. The ceremony features the induction of John Anderson, Don Cherry, Murray Eaves and Brad Smyth as the AHL Hall of Fame Class of 2019, and celebrates the careers of honorary All-Star Classic captains Shawn Thornton and Rob Murray. The ceremony will also be streamed on AHLTV.

The 2019 Lexus AHL All-Star Classic presented by MGM Springfield will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League: since 1995, more than 95 percent of All-Star Classic participants have gone on to compete in the National Hockey League, including Jake Allen, Cam AtkinsonPatrice BergeronBen Bishop, John CarlsonZdeno CharaLogan CoutureConnor HellebuyckBraden HoltbyTyler JohnsonMartin JonesJonathan MarchessaultBrandon MontourWilliam NylanderZach Parise, Kyle PalmieriMikko RantanenTuukka RaskPekka RinneJason SpezzaP.K. Subban and Mats Zuccarello.

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League serves as the top development league for the players, coaches, managers, executives, broadcasters and staff of all 31 National Hockey League teams. More than 87 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame spent time in the AHL in their careers. In 2017-18, over 6 million fans attended AHL regular-season and playoff games across North America for the 17th year in a row.