Calder Cup qualification rules for 2006

In 2005-06, a total of 16 teams will qualify for the AHL’s postseason.

The Calder Cup Playoffs will begin with the best-of-seven division semifinals, matching the first-place team against the fourth-place team and the second-place team against the third-place team in each division. These series winners advance to the division finals.

(If the fifth-place team in the Atlantic Division finishes with more points than the fourth-place team in the East Division, it will cross over and compete in the East Division play-offs.)

The best-of-seven division finals will match the winners of each division semifinal. These series winners advance to the best-of-seven conference finals, and those series winners will meet in the best-of-seven Calder Cup Finals.