Checkers claim Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy

The Charlotte Checkers captured the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy as the American Hockey League’s regular-season champions on Saturday evening.

Under head coach Mike Vellucci, the Checkers (48-17-7-1, 104 points, .712) will finish with the best record in the AHL for the first time, and will have home-ice advantage for as long as they advance in the 2019 Calder Cup Playoffs.

With three games remaining on its schedule, Charlotte has also wrapped up the Atlantic Division championship, its first-ever division title.

The Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy, instituted in 1997, is named for the late Macgregor Kilpatrick, a longtime member of the AHL Board of Governors and a 2010 inductee into the AHL Hall of Fame.