Dates announced for 2007 All-Star Classic

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced today that the 2007 Rbk Hockey AHL All-Star Classic will take place January 28-29, 2007, at Ricoh Coliseum in Toronto.

The Marlies organization was originally awarded the event by the AHL in February.

“The American Hockey League is proud to be working with the Marlies and Maple Leafs Sports and Entertainment to bring our premier event to Ricoh Coliseum in 2007,” said Andrews. “The 2007 Rbk Hockey AHL All-Star Classic will give fans from all 27 of our teams a chance to visit the great city of Toronto and see a collection of the best young players in all of hockey.”

The 2007 AHL All-Star Skills Competition will take place on Sunday, Jan. 28, with the 2007 AHL All-Star Game following on Monday, Jan. 29. Both events will get underway at 7:00 p.m. (ET), and will be televised live nationally in the United States and on Rogers Sportsnet across Canada.

“We’re excited to bring the AHL All-Star Classic to Toronto next year. It showcases the Marlies and the AHL’s great brand of hockey, while giving fans a chance to see the top prospects that represent the future of the NHL,” said Bob Hunter, executive vice-president of Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment. “We’re committed to bringing events like the AHL All-Star Classic to Toronto that have a much broader appeal, as well as support economic growth, attract tourists and promote our city. We look forward to hosting this great event.”

Built in 1922 on the grounds of Exhibition Place, Ricoh Coliseum is one of the oldest sporting venues in North America. In 2003, it underwent a wholesale renovation to become one of the finest facilities in the American Hockey League.

The 2007 Rbk Hockey AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League, competing in the AHL All-Star Skills Competition and the AHL All-Star Game. Of the 394 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 92 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Brad Boyes, Daniel Briere, Jonathan Cheechoo, Pavol Demitra, Rick DiPietro, Patrik Elias, Ray Emery, Miikka Kiprusoff, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Dwayne Roloson, Marc Savard, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal, Steve Sullivan and Kyle Wellwood.