Don Nachbaur named head coach in Binghamton

bng_200.jpgThe AHL’s Binghamton Senators, in conjunction with the Ottawa Senators, announced today that Don Nachbaur has been named the new head coach of the American Hockey League franchise. Nachbaur replaces Curtis Hunt who returned to the Regina Pats of the Western Hockey League.

Nachbaur joins the B-Sens after coaching the Tri-City Americans of the Western Hockey League for the past six seasons. In 432 regular season games with the Americans, Nachbaur has amassed 235 wins, 155 losses, 25 overtime losses and 17 shootout losses. Nauchbaur’s Americans have reached the playoffs in all six seasons he has coached them, including a run to the Western Conference finals in 2007-08.

Nachbaur has been named WHL coach of the year twice, first in 1994-95 when he led the Seattle Thunderbirds to a 42-28-2 record and again in 2007-08 with Tri-City, when he lead them to a franchise record 108 points with a 52-16-2-2 record.

Nachbaur began his coaching career with the Seattle Thunderbirds of the WHL in the 1994-95 season. He would remain behind the bench in Seattle for six seasons (1994-2000). From 2000-01 to 2001-02 Nachbaur served as assistant coach for the AHL’s Philadelphia Phantoms.

The 50 year-old Kitimat, B.C., native was drafted in the third round of the 1979 NHL entry draft (60th overall) by the Hartford Whalers. Over his 14-year professional career, Nachbaur played 223 NHL games with the Hartford Whalers, Edmonton Oilers and Philadelphia Flyers. He notched 23 goals and 46 assists for 69 points in regular season play and recorded 465 penalty minutes.

Nachbaur has also played 469 games in the American Hockey League, including parts of six seasons as a member of the Hershey Bears. Over his impressive AHL career, Nachbaur earned 174 goals and 187 assists for 361 points and recorded 1,452 penalty minutes, and he was a member of Hershey’s 1988 Calder Cup championship team.

Nachbaur is the fifth coach in franchise history following in the footsteps of John Paddock (2002-2005), Dave Cameron (2005-2007), Cory Clouston (2007-2009), and Curtis Hunt (2009).