Falcons get 13 from Lightning

The Stanley Cup Champion Tampa Bay Lightning have assigned 13 players to their new AHL affiliate, the AHL’s Springfield Falcons. Lightning Executive Vice President & General Manager Jay Feaster made the announcement today.

The following players will report to the Falcons’ training camp, which is scheduled to open Sept. 29 in Springfield, Mass.: goaltender Brian Eklund; defensemen Gerard Dicaire, Mike Egener, Andreas Holmqvist, Doug O’Brien and Paul Ranger; and forwards Evgeny Artukhin, Ryan Craig, Adam Henrich, Dennis Packard, Darren Reid, Jean-Francois Soucy and Nick Tarnasky.

Ten of the 13 players assigned to Springfield today were a part of the Lightning team that finished second in the Traverse City prospects tournament this afternoon, after a 4-3 loss to the St. Louis Blues’ prospects in the championship game. The Lightning went 2-1 in the tournament, which also included prospects from the Detroit Red Wings.