Griffins finish off San Jose to win the West

Photo: Sam Iannamico

The Grand Rapids Griffins are Western Conference champions after a 4-2 win over San Jose at Van Andel Arena on Saturday night.

The Griffins defeated the Pacific Division winning Barracuda four games to one to advance to the Calder Cup Finals for the second time in franchise history.

Brian Lashoff, one of three players remaining from Grand Rapids’ 2013 championship team, scored 24 seconds into Game 5 and the Griffins never looked back, rolling to their 11th win in 13 postseason games and improving to 7-0 on home ice during these playoffs.

Matthew Ford gave Grand Rapids a 2-0 lead before the first intermission and Matt Lorito scored twice to snuff out hopes of a San Jose comeback.

Jared Coreau (11-2) stopped 39 of 41 Barracuda shots on the night, allowing two goals or fewer for the ninth time in 13 playoff starts.

Timo Meier and Daniel O’Regan scored for San Jose, which did not lose three consecutive games in regulation all season before the last three games of this series.

Troy Grosenick made 22 saves.

Western Conference Finals – Series “N” (best-of-7)
P1-San Jose Barracuda vs. C2-Grand Rapids Griffins
Game 1 – Sat., May 20 – Grand Rapids 3, SAN JOSE 1 | Recap
Game 2 – Sun., May 21 – SAN JOSE 4, Grand Rapids 2 | Recap
Game 3 – Wed., May 24 – GRAND RAPIDS 4, San Jose 2 | Recap
Game 4 – Fri., May 26 – GRAND RAPIDS 6, San Jose 2 | Recap
Game 5 – Sat., May 27 – GRAND RAPIDS 4, San Jose 2