Heat acquire Locke; Wolves get Cundari

The Abbotsford Heat have acquired six-time AHL All-Star forward Corey Locke from the Chicago Wolves. In exchange, the Calgary Flames have reassigned 2013 All-Star defenseman Mark Cundari to the Wolves from Abbotsford.

Locke has six goals and 19 assists for 25 points in 36 games with the Wolves this season after signing an AHL contract on July 30, 2013. He has totaled 545 points (178 goals, 367 assists) in 609 games spanning nine seasons in the league with Hamilton, Houston, Hartford, Binghamton and Chicago.

Locke was awarded the Les Cunningham Award as the AHL’s most valuable player and the John B. Sollenberger Trophy as the league’s leading scorer after posting a career-best 86 points (21 goals, 65 assists) in 69 games with Binghamton during the 2010-11 campaign.

The 29-year-old center also is tied for 30th all-time with 60 playoff points in 62 Calder Cup postseason tilts and has captured the league title twice (2007, Hamilton; 2011, Binghamton).

Locke has appeared in six AHL All-Star Classics and has scored five goals in those contests, both of which are tied for the most in league history. His seven All-Star Game assists and 12 All-Star Game points rank first all-time in the AHL record book.

The Toronto native has appeared in nine National Hockey League games with the Montreal Canadiens (2007-08), New York Rangers (2009-10) and Ottawa Senators (2010-11).

Cundari, 23, has registered four goals and six assists for 10 points in 32 games with Abbotsford this season. The fourth-year pro was acquired by Calgary on April 1, 2013, along with goaltender Reto Berra and a first-round draft pick, from St. Louis in exchange for Jay Bouwmeester.

Cundari, a native of Woodbridge, Ont., was selected to the 2013 Dunkin’ Donuts AHL All-Star Classic. He has skated in 207 career AHL games with Abbotsford and Peoria, notching 24 goals and 59 assists for 83 points.

The 5-foot-10, 200-pound rearguard played four seasons with the Windsor Spitfires of the OHL and captured back-to-back Memorial Cup championships in 2008-09 and 2009-10.