Lack named top goalie for December

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Eddie Lack of the Manitoba Moose has been named the Reebok/AHL Goaltender of the Month for December. Lack made nine starts on the month and went 7-2-0 with a 1.99 goals-against average, a .935 save percentage and one shutout, lifting the Moose from fifth place to second in the North Division.

After a 31-save showing and a 5-for-5 shootout effort in a 3-2 win over Oklahoma City on Dec. 3, Lack dropped a pair of decisions to the Barons (despite making 30 saves in each). He then rattled off six consecutive victories, stopping 170 of 178 shots over the second half of the month. Lack turned aside a season-high 39 shots in a 3-1 win at Texas on Dec. 14, and made 20 saves for his first career AHL shutout on Dec. 18 vs. Houston. Peoria came to town with one regulation loss in its previous 14 games and Lack shut down the Rivermen twice, making 28 saves in a 5-2 win on Dec. 27 and 33 stops in a 4-1 victory the next night. He finished December with a 24-save performance in a New Year’s Eve win over Chicago.

In recognition of his achievement, Lack will be presented with an etched crystal award prior to an upcoming Moose home game.

In his first season of play in North America, Lack has a record of 13-7-2 in 22 appearances for Manitoba, ranking sixth in the AHL with a 1.98 goals-against average and eighth with a .930 save percentage. Lack, who turns 23 on Jan. 5, is a native of Norrtalje, Sweden, played last season for Brynas IF in the Swedish Elitserien and signed as a free agent with Vancouver on Apr. 6, 2010.

Other nominees for Reebok/AHL Goaltender of the Month include Abbotsford’s Leland Irving, Binghamton’s Robin Lehner, Bridgeport’s Kevin Poulin, Chicago’s Peter Mannino, Connecticut’s Chad Johnson, Grand Rapids’ Joey MacDonald, Hamilton’s Curtis Sanford, Manchester’s Martin Jones, Peoria’s Jake Allen, Portland’s Jhonas Enroth, Rochester’s Jacob Markstrom, Rockford’s Hannu Toivonen, San Antonio’s Matt Climie, Texas’s Richard Bachman, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton’s Brad Thiessen and Worcester’s Alex Stalock.