Moose goalie Schneider nabs monthly honor


… The American Hockey League announced today that Cory Schneider of the Manitoba Moose has been named the Reebok X-Pulse/AHL Goaltender of the Month for November. Schneider was 5-0-0 in five appearances for the Moose last month, with a 1.20 goals-against average, a .959 save percentage and one shutout.

Schneider began the month with a 27-save effort in Manitoba’s 4-0 win at Peoria on Nov. 2, his first shutout of the season. He stopped 26 of 27 shots in a 5-1 win at Rochester on Nov. 7, and turned aside 31 of 32 shots in a 2-1 win over Toronto on Nov. 14. Schneider came back with 33 saves in a 4-2 win over the Marlies one night later, and recorded 22 saves in a 5-2 victory over San Antonio on Nov. 20. After being recalled by the parent Vancouver Canucks, Schneider made 28 saves and was named the game’s third star in his NHL debut at Calgary on Nov. 29.

In recognition of his achievement, Schneider will be presented with an etched crystal award prior to an upcoming Moose home game.

Schneider remains first in the league with a 1.37 goals-against average and third with a .945 save percentage while going 10-1-0 in 11 AHL appearances this season. A first-round draft choice (26th overall) by Vancouver in 2004, the 22-year-old native of Marblehead, Mass., went 21-12-2 as a rookie with the Moose in 2007-08, placing seventh with a 2.28 GAA in 36 outings. Schneider also had a 1.92 GAA and .938 save percentage in six appearances during the 2008 Calder Cup Playoffs.

Other nominees for Reebok X-Pulse/AHL Goaltender of the Month include Albany’s Justin Peters, Bridgeport’s Nathan Lawson, Chicago’s Dan Turple, Grand Rapids’ Daniel Larsson, Houston’s Barry Brust, Iowa’s Jean-Philippe Levasseur, Lake Erie’s Tyler Weiman, Lowell’s Jeff Frazee, Milwaukee’s Drew MacIntyre, Philadelphia’s Scott Munroe, Portland’s Jhonas Enroth, Providence’s Tuukka Rask, Quad City’s Leland Irving, Rochester’s Chris Beckford-Tseu, Rockford’s Corey Crawford, San Antonio’s Josh Tordjman, Syracuse’s Dan LaCosta and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton’s Adam Berkhoel.