Munroe picks up weekly honor

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Bridgeport Sound Tigers goaltender Scott Munroe has been named the Reebok/AHL Player of the Week for the period ending Dec. 20, 2009. Munroe stopped 63 of the 64 shots he faced in two appearances last week for Bridgeport.

Munroe got the start on Friday night in Providence and shined in the Sound Tigers’ 3-1 victory, turning aside 41 shots — including all 30 he faced over the final two periods. The win was Bridgeport’s first at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center in nearly three years. Munroe came back on Sunday evening and made 22 saves for his second shutout of the season, leading the Sound Tigers to a 2-0 win over visiting Springfield. He finished the week with a 2-0-0 record, a 0.50 goals-against average and a .984 save percentage.

In recognition of his achievement, Munroe will be presented with an etched crystal award prior to an upcoming Sound Tigers home game.

In 19 appearances for Bridgeport this season, Munroe has posted a record of 10-7-1 with a 2.33 goals-against average and a .927 save percentage. The fourth-year pro out of the University of Alabama-Huntsville finished fourth in the AHL with 31 victories for Philadelphia in 2008-09, and shows a career mark of 74-55-9 with 12 shutouts in 153 AHL games. Munroe signed as a free agent with the New York Islanders on July 2, 2009.

Other nominees for Reebok/AHL Player of the Week include Adirondack right wing Stefan Legein, Albany left wing Zach Boychuk, Binghamton defenseman Derek Smith, Chicago defenseman Chris Chelios, Grand Rapids center Patrick Rissmiller, Hamilton center David Desharnais, Hershey goaltender Braden Holtby, Houston defenseman Maxim Noreau, Lake Erie goaltender Tyler Weiman, Lowell goaltender Mike McKenna, Manchester goaltender Jonathan Bernier, Manitoba goaltender Cory Schneider, Norfolk goaltender Dustin Tokarski, Peoria defenseman Bryce Lampman, Portland center Tyler Ennis, Rochester center Jamie Johnson, Rockford center Bracken Kearns, San Antonio right wing Matt Watkins, Syracuse center Tomas Kana, Texas center Greg Rallo, Toronto right wing Troy Bodie, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton right wing Nick Johnson and Worcester left wing John McCarthy.

Also see: Past winners, AHL Player of the Week