Oilers send 17 to Road Runners

The Edmonton Oilers have assigned 17 players to their American Hockey League affiliate, the Edmonton Road Runners.

Four of the 17 players assigned spent time with the Oilers during the 2003-04 season: Mike Bishai (14gp, 0+2=2), Doug Lynch (2 gp, 0+0=0), Tony Salmelainen (13gp, 0+1=1) and Jarret Stoll (68gp, 10+11=21) all skated for the Oilers last season.

Lynch was an AHL All-Star and a member of the league’s All-Rookie Team in 2004.

The assigned players are as follows:

FORWARDS (10): Dan Baum, Mike Bishai, Kyle Brodziak, Ed Caron, Joe Cullen, J.J. Hunter, Brock Radunske, Tony Salmelainen, Jarret Stoll and Brad Winchester

DEFENSEMEN (5): Doug Lynch, Jason Platt, Mathieu Roy, Kenny Smith and Jeff Woywitka

GOALTENDERS (2): Jeff Drouin-Deslauriers and Mike Morrison.

The Road Runners inaugural training camp in Edmonton will open on September 30, 2004 at Rexall Place.