Ottawa, Binghamton extend affiliation through 2012

ott-bng_200.jpgThe Ottawa Senators Hockey Club announced today it has renewed its American Hockey League affiliation with the Binghamton Senators for the next five seasons – from 2007-08 to 2011-12.

As well, the Binghamton Senators and Broome County have an agreement in principle, pending legislative approval, on a five-year lease for Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena.

Working with Binghamton Senators president Tim Smith and Tom Mitchell, the club’s executive vice president of operations, the NHL Senators have hired the coaching staff and placed their prospects in Binghamton, N.Y., since the 2002-03 season. In the first five years of the affiliation, including 2006-07, the Binghamton Senators hold a record of 173 wins, 144 losses, 25 ties, 16 losses in overtime and nine shootout losses (367 regular-season games).

The club’s best season was in 2004-05 when they posted 106 points with 47 wins, 21 losses, seven ties and five overtime losses. The Senators participated in the playoffs in their first three seasons, but missed out in 2005-06.

The Ottawa Senators’ current 22-player roster features 10 players who suited up with Binghamton: Patrick Eaves, Ray Emery, Denis Hamel, Chris Kelly, Brian McGrattan, Christoph Schubert, Jason Spezza and Antoine Vermette.

Anton Volchenkov and Chris Neil spent part of the lockout season in Binghamton in 2004-05.

Senators assistant coach John Paddock was Binghamton’s head coach in 2002-03 and 2003-04, and served as co-coach with Dave Cameron during the 2004-05 campaign.