Penguins, IceCaps set for East Finals

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League has announced the schedule for the Eastern Conference Finals series in the 2014 Calder Cup Playoffs.

The Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins, top affiliate of the NHL’s Pittsburgh Penguins, will face off against the St. John’s IceCaps, top development club for the NHL’s Winnipeg Jets, in a best-of-seven series for the Eastern Conference championship and the right to play in the Calder Cup Finals.

Eastern Conference Finals – Series “M”
4-St. John’s IceCaps vs. 6-W-B/Scranton Penguins

Game 1 – Sat., May 24 – W-B/Scranton at St. John’s, 6:00
Game 2 – Sun., May 25 – W-B/Scranton at St. John’s, 6:00
Game 3 – Wed., May 28 – St. John’s at W-B/Scranton, 7:05
Game 4 – Thu., May 29 – St. John’s at W-B/Scranton, 7:05
*Game 5 – Sat., May 31 – St. John’s at W-B/Scranton, 7:05
*Game 6 – Tue., June 3 – W-B/Scranton at St. John’s, 6:00
*Game 7 – Wed., June 4 – W-B/Scranton at St. John’s, 6:00
    *if necessary… All times Eastern

The Eastern Conference Finals matchup was finalized tonight with Wilkes-Barre/Scranton’s 5-4 victory over the Providence Bruins in Game 7 of their conference semifinal series. St. John’s eliminated the Norfolk Admirals, four games to two, in the other East semifinal.

In the Western Conference, the Texas Stars will face the Toronto Marlies in the conference finals beginning Friday.

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of all players competing in the NHL are AHL graduates, and through the years the American Hockey League has been home to more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame.