Phantoms’ Murray heads to Buffalo

The Buffalo Sabres today announced that Terry Murray and Dave Barr have been hired as assistant coaches to serve on head coach Dan Bylsma’s coaching staff.

Murray returns to the NHL coaching ranks after spending the last three seasons as head coach of the Lehigh Valley/Adirondack Phantoms (AHL). Prior to his time with the Phantoms, Murray was head coach of the Los Angeles Kings from 2008-09 to 2011-12, coaching the team to a 139-106-30 record in that time.

Murray began his coaching career as an assistant coach with the Washington Capitals in the 1983-84 season. In total, he has spent 15 seasons as an NHL head coach with the Capitals, Kings, Philadelphia Flyers and Florida Panthers, compiling a 499-383-130 regular-season record. His 1,012 regular-season games as head coach rank him 20th in NHL history and his 499 wins rank 22nd. Murray led his teams to the playoffs in 10 of his 15 seasons, earning a 50-51 mark in 101 playoff games, including a Stanley Cup Final appearance with the Flyers in 1996-97.

Prior to his coaching career, the Shawville, Que., native was selected by the Oakland Seals in the seventh round of the 1970 Amateur NHL Draft. He went on to appear in 302 NHL games in eight seasons as a defenseman for the Flyers, Capitals, Detroit Red Wings and California Golden Seals, and was a two-time recipient of the Eddie Shore Award as the AHL’s outstanding defenseman while playing for the Maine Mariners.

Barr joins the Sabres after serving as an assistant coach for the New Jersey Devils from 2011-12 to 2014-15. Before joining the Devils, Barr spent time as an assistant coach for the Colorado Avalanche (2008-09) and the Minnesota Wild (2010-11). He was also the general manager of the AHL’s Houston Aeros when they won the Calder Cup in 2003.

As a player, Barr appeared in 614 games during a 13-year NHL career, totaling 332 points (128+204) and 520 penalty minutes. The Toronto, Ontario native’s career included stops with the Red Wings, Devils, Boston Bruins, New York Rangers, St. Louis Blues, Hartford Whalers and Dallas Stars.