Pirates’ Shinnimin named to All-Star roster

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Portland Pirates forward Brendan Shinnimin has been added to the Eastern Conference roster for the 2015 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino, set for this Sunday and Monday in Utica, N.Y. 

In addition, the AHL announced that Portland forward Alexandre Bolducwill not be available for the event. 

Shinnimin, 24, is in his third AHL season and has tallied nine goals and a team-leading 16 assists for 25 points in 39 games for Portland in 2014-15. He also made his NHL debut with the Arizona Coyotes earlier this season, appearing in two games. 

A very limited number of tickets remain available for the 2015 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino. They can be purchased in person at the Utica Memorial Auditorium box office (10-4 ET), by phone at 800-693-8000 or online at www.ticketmaster.com. Tickets for the two-day event are priced as low as $69 and include admission to both the All-Star Skills Competition at 8 p.m. on Sunday, Jan. 25 and the All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 26

In addition, complimentary tickets for the AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony are available by visiting the Turning Stone Resort Casino box office (10 a.m. – 8 p.m. ET) or by phone at 877-833-7469. The AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, to be held in The Showroom at Turning Stone Resort Casino at 11 a.m. on Monday, Jan. 26, will feature the induction of Frederic Cassivi, James C. Hendy, Bronco Horvath and Art Stratton as the AHL Hall of Fame Class of 2015 and will also celebrate honorary All-Star Classic captains Bill Guerin and Eric Weinrich. 

The 2015 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino will be televised to more than 100 million households on Sportsnet in Canada and on a comprehensive network of regional partners in the United States, and will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League: Of the 644 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 94 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice BergeronBen BishopRyan CallahanZdeno CharaLogan CoutureJimmy HowardChris KunitzRyan MillerGustav NyquistZach PariseTuukka RaskPekka RinneBobby RyanMartin St. LouisCory SchneiderPatrick SharpJason SpezzaEric Staal and P.K. Subban.