RBC Future All-Stars selected for Worcester

The American Hockey League and the Worcester Sharks announced today that Zach Luczyk, Chris Maguire, Brian Rowland and Matthew Winter have been selected as the RBC Future All-Stars for the 2009 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Charter Communications.

The RBC Future All-Stars will participate alongside the American Hockey League All-Stars in select events during the 2009 AHL All-Star Skills Competition at the DCU Center on Sunday, January 25. Their scores in those events will count toward the final outcome for the evening.

Luczyk, 16, is from Charlton, Mass. and attends Worcester Academy. He also plays for the Boston Jr. Bruins and will participate with the Canadian AHL All-Stars on Sunday.

Maguire, 13, will also participate with the Canadian All-Star team. The Waltham, Mass., native plays for the Middlesex Braves and Assabet Valley Patriots and is part of Massachusetts Hockey Satellite Program.

Rowland, 14, and Winter, 12, will be a part of the PlanetUSA AHL All-Stars. Rowland is also a native of Waltham and plays for the Middlesex Braves, Boston Junior Eagles and Massachusetts Hockey Satellite Program. Winter, a native of Chelmsford, Mass., attends Innovations Academy (Tyngsboro, Mass.) and plays for the Boston Jr. Bruins.

The 2009 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Charter Communications will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in the annual AHL All-Star Skills Competition and the 2009 AHL All-Star Game, a two-day event to be televised nationally in the United States and Canada.

Ticket packages, for admission to both the Skills Competition (Jan. 25) and the All-Star Game (Jan. 26), are going fast.

For more information, call the Sharks office at (508) 929-0500 or crash the net at www.sharksahl.com/tickets/AllStar.

Of the 455 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 94 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Brad Boyes, Dan Boyle, Brian Campbell, Zdeno Chara, Rick DiPietro, Jiri Hudler, Miikka Kiprusoff, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal and Tomas Vokoun.