Reebok named title sponsor of 2008 AHL All-Star Classic

08allstar-rbk.jpgSPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Reebok-CCM has been named the title sponsor for the 2008 AHL All-Star Classic.

The 2008 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Reebok will take place this month at the Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, N.Y. The event will begin with the 2008 CCM AHL All-Star Skills Competition on January 27, and conclude with the 2008 AHL All-Star Game on January 28.
“Reebok-CCM has a significant and valuable presence in the AHL as our premier equipment supplier, exclusive jersey manufacturer and leading licensing and marketing partner,” said David Andrews, President and CEO of the American Hockey League. “We are excited to once again have the industry’s most recognizable company join us in showcasing our top players at this world-class event.”
The AHL and Reebok-CCM are in the midst of a multi-year, multi-million-dollar partnership. Reebok-CCM produces all authentic, replica, practice, warm-up and alternate jerseys for each of the league’s 29 teams under its Reebok brand, as well as the jerseys for the 2008 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Reebok. Reebok-CCM is also an approved manufacturer of headwear and non-jersey apparel in the AHL’s licensing program, and presents Reebok Promotional Nights, purchasing more than 25,000 tickets for distribution to charitable organizations and youth groups in each AHL city as well as to its top retailers for customer reward programs during the year.
Reebok-CCM, a subsidiary of the adidas Group, is headquartered in Montreal. With operations in Canada, the United States and Europe, it is the world’s largest designer, manufacturer and marketer of hockey equipment and related apparel under two of the world’s most recognized hockey brand names: Rbk Hockey and CCM Hockey. Reebok-CCM is a world leader in the design and innovation of skates, sticks, helmets, protective equipment products and related apparel, and is the Premier Equipment Supplier of the AHL.
The 2008 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Reebok will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in the 2008 CCM AHL All-Star Skills Competition and the 2008 AHL All-Star Game, in an event to be televised nationally in the United States and Canada. Of the 427 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Brad Boyes, Daniel Briere, Zdeno Chara, Jonathan Cheechoo, Pavol Demitra, Rick DiPietro, Patrik Elias, Ray Emery, Jiri Hudler, Miikka Kiprusoff, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal and Steve Sullivan.