Rockford’s Byfuglien named player of the week


… The American Hockey League announced today that Rockford IceHogs defenseman Dustin Byfuglien has been named the Rbk/AHL Player of the Week for the period ending October 21, 2007. Byfuglien recorded one goal, five assists and a plus-4 rating in four games as Rockford rolled into first place in the West Division by going 3-0-1-0 on the week.

Byfuglien made his 2007-08 season debut on Oct. 16 and recorded a goal and an assist to help the IceHogs to a 4-2 win at San Antonio. The next night, he assisted on both of Rockford’s third-period goals in a 3-2 come-from-behind victory at Houston. On Oct. 19 at Chicago, Byfuglien had another assist as the IceHogs dropped a 5-4 overtime decision to the Wolves, and on Oct. 20, he set up the game-winning goal in a 5-1 victory in Grand Rapids.

In recognition of his achievement, Byfuglien will be presented with an etched crystal award prior to an upcoming IceHogs home game.

A Second Team AHL All-Star in 2006-07, Byfuglien is in his third professional season after being drafted by the Chicago Blackhawks in 2003. The 22-year-old native of Minneapolis, Minn., tied for third among AHL defensemen with 16 goals and also added 28 assists for 44 points in 63 AHL games for Norfolk last season. He has appeared in 34 NHL games with the Blackhawks over the past two seasons, totaling four goals and four assists for eight points.

Other nominees for Rbk/AHL Player of the Week include Albany forward Keith Aucoin, Binghamton forward Cody Bass, Bridgeport forward Ben Walter, Chicago forward Jesse Schultz, Grand Rapids forward Brett Engelhardt, Hamilton forward Jonathan Ferland, Hartford forward Greg Moore, Houston forward Serge Payer, Manchester forward Teddy Purcell, Manitoba forward Colby Genoway, Milwaukee forward Rich Peverley, Norfolk forward Kyle Wanvig, Peoria forward Julian Talbot, Philadelphia forward Kyle Greentree, Portland goaltender Mike McKenna, Providence forward Jeff Hoggan, Quad City forward Grant Stevenson, Rochester forward Clarke MacArthur, Springfield goaltender Jeff Deslauriers, Syracuse forward Joakim Lindstrom, Toronto forward  John Mitchell, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton forward Jeff Taffe and Worcester forward Nate Raduns.

Also see: Previous winners, Rbk/AHL Player of the Week