Wolves’ Pavelec earns February goalie honors


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Ondrej Pavelec of the Chicago Wolves has been named the Rbk X-Pulse/AHL Goaltender of the Month for February. Pavelec was 9-2-1 in 12 appearances last month, posting a 1.49 goals-against average and a .949 save percentage to lead Chicago into first place in the West Division.

Following a 5-4 loss in Milwaukee on Feb. 1, Pavelec allowed two goals or fewer in each of his last 11 starts, including a 31-save shutout of Iowa on Feb. 8. He stopped 31 of 33 shots in a 3-2 overtime win at Milwaukee on Feb. 14 and turned aside 33 shots in a 4-1 win at Rockford on Feb. 16, then had his busiest nights of the season during a two-game set in San Antonio. Pavelec made a season-high 43 saves to lead the Wolves past the Rampage, 5-1, on Feb. 27, then stopped 40 of 42 shots in a 3-2 shootout loss in the rematch on Feb. 29.
In recognition of his achievement, Pavelec will be presented with an etched crystal award prior to an upcoming Wolves home game.

Pavelec, a 20-year-old native of Kladno, Czech Republic, has a record of 25-9-1 with a 2.55 goals-against average and a .918 save percentage in 35 appearances for Chicago this season. He leads all AHL rookies and ranks second overall in victories (25) for the Wolves, and he made his NHL debut with the Atlanta earlier this season, going 3-3-0 in seven appearances. A second-round choice (41st overall) by the Thrashers in the 2005 NHL Entry Draft, Pavelec earned First Team All-Star honors with Cape Breton (QMJHL) in both 2006 and 2007.
Other nominees for Rbk X-Pulse/AHL Goaltender of the Month include Albany’s Michael Leighton, Bridgeport’s Mike Morrison, Grand Rapids’ Adam Berkhoel, Hamilton’s Jaroslav Halak, Houstons’ Barry Brust, Iowa’s Tobias Stephan, Lake Erie’s Mike Wall, Lowell’s Dave Caruso, Manitoba’s Cory Schneider, Norfolk’s Jonathan Boutin, Philadelphia’s Scott Munroe, Providence’s Tuukka Rask, Quad City’s Matt Keetley, Rochester’s Adam Dennis, Rockford’s Wade Flaherty, San Antonio’s Josh Tordjman, Springfield’s Devan Dubnyk, Syracuse’s Dan LaCosta, Toronto’s Justin Pogge and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton’s Marc-Andre Fleury.