albany64 bakersfield64 binghamton64 bridgeport64 charlotte64 chicago64 cleveland64 grandrapids64 hartford64 hershey64 iowa64 lehighvalley64 manitoba64 milwaukee64 ontario64 providence64 rochester64 rockford64 sanantonio64 sandiego64 sanjose64 springfield64 stjohns64 stockton64 syracuse64 texas64 toronto64 tucson64 utica64 wbs64
Loading Scoreboard...

2017 Calder Cup Playoff Primer

Updated 2017-02-27 09:09 AM ET


A daily look at the race to the 2017 Calder Cup Playoffs. The 2016-17 regular season ends April 15.


(requires Acrobat Reader)

Sunday’s Games:
Hershey 1 at Bridgeport 2
San Antonio 2 at Manitoba 4
Springfield 0 at Providence 3
Iowa 3 at Chicago 4 (OT)
Binghamton 1 at Hartford 3
Rockford 4 at Ontario 5
Texas 1 at Stockton 4
Monday’s Games:
No games scheduled.
Tuesday’s Games:
Milwaukee at Charlotte – 7:00 PM EST
Grand Rapids at Cleveland – 7:00 PM EST
Manitoba at Rockford – 7:00 PM CST
San Diego at Tucson – 7:05 PM MST
Texas at Bakersfield – 7:00 PM PST

Matchups if the 2017 Calder Cup Playoffs started today:

A1 W-B/Scranton
A4 Bridgeport
C1 Grand Rapids
A2 Providence
A3 Lehigh Valley
C2 Chicago
C3 Milwaukee
N1 Syracuse
N4 St. John's
P1 San Jose
N2 Albany
N3 Toronto
P2 San Diego
P3 Ontario

2017 Calder Cup Playoffs Qualification Rules:


In 2016-17, the AHL will have 16 teams participating in the postseason.

The top four teams in each of the AHL’s four divisions as ranked by points percentage (points earned divided by points available) will qualify for the 2017 Calder Cup Playoffs.

Home-ice advantage in all series will be granted to the team with the higher points percentage.

The division semifinals will be best-of-five series. All other series are in a best-of-seven format.

Following are the tiebreaking procedures used in the event of a tie in points percentage in the standings, regardless of division, following the completion of the regular season. When a tie among three or more teams is broken resulting in a two-team tie, the original tiebreaking method is used.

Between two teams:
a) percentage of games won (excluding shootout wins)
b) points in season series between teams
c) goal differential
d) goals scored in season series between teams
e) intra-conference points percentage

Among three or more teams:
a) percentage of games won (excluding shootout wins)
b) points percentage in combined season series
c) goal differential
d) goal differential in combined season series
e) intra-conference points percentage