2008 AHL All-Star Classic set for Jan. 27-28

08allstar_280.jpgSPRINGFIELD, Mass. … American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced today that the 2008 AHL All-Star Classic will take place on Sunday, January 27 and Monday, January 28 at the Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, N.Y.

“Binghamton has a rich tradition in the American Hockey League history and a tremendously loyal fan base,” said Andrews. “While the Broome County Arena is not our largest venue, it will provide a terrific setting for our fans, our guests and our All-Stars to celebrate and showcase AHL excellence.”

“We are extremely honored and pleased to be hosting the 2008 AHL All-Star Classic,” said Tom Mitchell, executive vice president of the Binghamton Senators. “The whole community is excited about the tremendous exposure and distinction that this premier event will bring to Binghamton and Broome County.”

The 2008 AHL All-Star Classic was awarded to Binghamton in February. In 2007-08, the city of Binghamton and the Broome County Arena will be commemorating their 35th season hosting professional hockey, including 26 as members of the American Hockey League. The Senators, top development team of the NHL’s Ottawa Senators, have called Binghamton home since 2002. This event will mark the city’s first AHL All-Star Classic.

The 2008 AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League, competing in the AHL All-Star Skills Competition and the AHL All-Star Game. Of the 427 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 92 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Pavol Demitra, Rick DiPietro, Patrik Elias, Miikka Kiprusoff, Chris Kunitz, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Martin St. Louis, Eric Staal and Steve Sullivan, as well as current Ottawa Senators Jason Spezza, Ray Emery, Anton Volchenkov and Joe Corvo.