34 AHL alumni in NHL Winter Classic

outdoor_250.jpgThirty-four American Hockey League alumni were in the lineup for the AMP Energy NHL Winter Classic in Buffalo on New Year’s Day, the first regular-season outdoor NHL game ever played in the United States.

The Pittsburgh Penguins defeated the Buffalo Sabres, 2-1 in a shootout, at Ralph Wilson Stadium in Orchard Park, N.Y.

The game rosters featured 16 Penguins and 18 Sabres who have played in the AHL in their careers, including four Pittsburgh players who have skated for the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins during the 2007-08 season: Tyler Kennedy, Jeff Taffe, Kristopher Letang and winning goaltender Ty Conklin.

The AMP Energy NHL Winter Classic marked the second regular-season outdoor game in NHL history. Attendance was 71,217, surpassing the NHL single-game record set at the League’s first outdoor regular-season contest, when 57,167 filled Edmonton’s Commonwealth Stadium to see the Montreal Canadiens defeat the Edmonton Oilers 4-3 in 2003.

AHL alumni in the AMP Energy Winter Classic
Rob ScuderiJaroslav Spacek
Ryan MaloneDerek Roy
Erik ChristensenHenrik Tallinder
Petr SykoraAles Kotalik
Adam HallDaniel Paille
Ryan WhitneyAdam Mair
Colby ArmstrongThomas Vanek
Georges LaraquePaul Gaustad
Jarkko RuutuJason Pominville
Jeff TaffeMichael Ryan
Brooks OrpikNathan Paetsch
Tyler KennedyDmitri Kalinin
Sergei GoncharBrian Campbell
Kristopher LetangJochen Hecht
Ty ConklinMaxim Afinogenov
Dany SabourinAndrew Peters
 Ryan Miller
 Jocelyn Thibault