AHL announces division alignment for 2007-08

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league’s Board of Governors has approved the following conference and division alignment for the AHL’s 2007-08 season (NHL affiliates in parentheses):

Eastern Conference
Atlantic DivisionEast Division
Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)Albany River Rats (CAR)
Lowell Devils (NJ)Binghamton Senators (OTT)
Manchester Monarchs (LA)Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)
Portland Pirates (ANA)Hershey Bears (WSH)
Providence Bruins (BOS)Norfolk Admirals (TB)
Springfield Falcons (EDM)Philadelphia Phantoms (PHI)
Worcester Sharks (SJ)Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)
Western Conference
North DivisionWest Division
Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)Chicago Wolves (ATL)
Hamilton Bulldogs (MTL)Houston Aeros (MIN)
Lake Erie Monsters (COL)Iowa Stars (DAL)
Manitoba Moose (VAN)Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)
Rochester Americans (BUF/FLA)Peoria Rivermen (STL)
Syracuse Crunch (CBJ)Quad City Flames (CGY)
Toronto Marlies (TOR)Rockford IceHogs (CHI)
 San Antonio Rampage (PHX)

The format for the 2008 Calder Cup Playoffs will be determined at the league’s Annual Meeting next month.

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. The 2007 Calder Cup Final series begins Friday night, with Hershey and Hamilton battling for the 71st American Hockey League championship.