AHL announces Man of the Year team winners

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the individual team winners of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year awards, given to one player from each AHL member team for his outstanding contributions to his local community and charitable organizations during the 2006-07 season.

From this list of 27 finalists, representatives from American Specialty and the AHL will choose the winner of the 2006-07 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award.

The AHL’s annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupre, who died in August 1997 at the age of 24, following a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre, an AHL All-Star in 1995, played four seasons with the Hershey Bears, registering 169 points in 207 AHL games. He also skated in 35 NHL games with the Philadelphia Flyers.

The winner of the 2006-07 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced later this month.

This year’s winners of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year awards are:

Mitch Love, Albany River Rats  Marty Sertich, Iowa Stars Drew Miller, Portland Pirates
Bobby Robins, Binghamton Senators David Clarkson, Lowell Devils  Jordan Sigalet, Providence Bruins 
Mark Wotton, Bridgeport Sound Tigers Gabe Gauthier, Manchester Monarchs  Patrick Kaleta, Rochester Americans 
Brian Sipotz, Chicago Wolves J.J. Hunter, Manitoba Moose  Logan Stephenson, San Antonio Rampage 
Derek Meech, Grand Rapids Griffins Bracken Kearns, Milwaukee Admirals  Mitch Fritz, Springfield Falcons 
Corey Locke, Hamilton Bulldogs Danny Richmond, Norfolk Admirals  Jeffrey Szwez, Syracuse Crunch 
Hugh Jessiman, Hartford Wolf Pack Tim Hambly, Omaha Ak-Sar-Ben Knights Jeff Corey, Toronto Marlies 
Dean Arsene, Hershey Bears Aaron MacKenzie, Peoria Rivermen  Matt Carkner, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins 
Ryan Stokes, Houston Aeros Riley Cote, Philadelphia Phantoms  Riley Armstrong, Worcester Sharks