AHL Hall of Fame welcomes Class of 2019

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League today formally inducted four new members into its American Hockey League Hall of Fame.

The AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony took place at MGM Springfield as part of the festivities that are making up the 2019 Lexus AHL All-Star Classic presented by MGM Springfield.

Honored for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the American Hockey League were John Anderson, winner of 424 regular-season games and two Calder Cup championships as head coach of the Chicago Wolves; Don Cherry, a four-time Calder Cup winner who starred in Springfield, Hershey and Rochester and later won AHL Coach of the Year honors; Murray Eaves, a two-time Calder Cup winner and the AHL’s career leader in points per game with 680 points in 536 contests; and Brad Smyth, a two-time 50-goal scorer who racked up 667 career points while also earning an MVP award and a Calder Cup title.

Brendan Burke, the television voice of the New York Islanders on MSG Networks, served as the master of ceremonies for the event. Burke will join Alan May and Todd Crocker on the call of tonight’s AHL All-Star Challenge, airing live on NHL Network in the United States, Sportsnet ONE across Canada and worldwide on AHLTV (theahl.com/AHLTV).

In an effort to make the rich tradition of the American Hockey League available to the widest possible audience, the AHL Hall of Fame is housed on-line at www.ahlhalloffame.com and is accessible to fans worldwide with the click of a mouse as a member of the AHL Internet Network.

Formed in 1936 and now in its 83rd season of operation, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 31 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates.