Amerks’ Taylor wins Fred T. Hunt Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Chris Taylor of the Rochester Americans has been named the 2004-05 winner of the Fred T. Hunt Memorial Award as the AHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship, determination and dedication to hockey. The award is voted on by players and members of the media in each of the league’s 28 cities.

The 33-year-old Taylor is completing his 13th professional season, and sixth with the Americans. The Rochester captain currently leads the team with 70 points on 20 goals and 50 assists, along with just 42 penalty minutes, while skating in all 73 games for the Amerks. Recognized as one of the top two-way forwards in the league, Taylor has continued to climb Rochester’s franchise leaderboard, currently ranking eighth all-time with 220 assists and 10th with 323 points in 329 games in an Amerks uniform.

Originally a second-round draft choice by the New York Islanders in 1990, Taylor has totaled 128 goals and 274 assists for 402 points in 427 career AHL games with Rochester, Providence and Capital District. He has skated in 947 regular-season games in his pro career, including 149 National Hockey League matches with Buffalo, Boston and the Islanders.

This award, which was first presented by the AHL in 1978, honors the late Fred T. Hunt, a long-time contributor to the league who won three Calder Cup championships as a player and three more as a general manager. Previous winners of the award include Ross Yates (1983), Glenn Merkosky (1987, ’91), Bruce Boudreau (1988), Murray Eaves (’89, ’90), John Anderson (1992), Ken Gernander (1996, 2004), Steve Passmore (1997), Randy Cunneyworth (2000), Nathan Dempsey (2002) and Chris Ferraro (2003).

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. This season, more than 6.1 million fans have attended AHL games to date, and 16 clubs will continue to vie for the league’s coveted championship trophy when the 2005 Calder Cup Playoffs get underway later this month.

Fred T. Hunt Memorial Award
Season Player
2004-05 Chris Taylor, Rochester
2003-04 Ken Gernander, Hartford
2002-03 Chris Ferraro, Portland;
Eric Healey, Manchester (tie)
2001-02 Nathan Dempsey, St. John’s
2000-01 Kent Hulst, Portland/Providence
1999-2000 Randy Cunneyworth, Rochester
1998-99 Mitch Lamoureux, Hershey
1997-98 Craig Charron, Rochester
1996-97 Steve Passmore, Hamilton
1995-96 Ken Gernander, Binghamton
1994-95 Steve Larouche, P.E.I.
1993-94 Jim Nesich, Cape Breton
1992-93 Tim Tookey, Hershey
1991-92 John Anderson, New Haven
1990-91 Glenn Merkosky, Adirondack
1989-90 Murray Eaves, Adirondack
1988-89 Murray Eaves, Adirondack
1987-88 Bruce Boudreau, Springfield
1986-87 Glenn Merkosky, Adirondack
1985-86 Steve Tsujiura, Maine
1984-85 Paul Gardner, Binghamton
1983-84 Claude Larose, Sherbrooke
1982-83 Ross Yates, Binghamton
1981-82 Mike Kaszycki, New Brunswick
1980-81 Tony Cassolato, Hershey
1979-80 Norm Dube, Nova Scotia
1978-79 Bernie Johnston, Maine
1977-78 Blake Dunlop, Maine