Bacashihua shuts door, wins AHL honor

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Peoria Rivermen goaltender Jason Bacashihua has been named the CCM Vector/AHL Player of the Week for the period ending October 30, 2005. In three games, Bacashihua was 3-0-0 with a 0.33 goals-against average, a .985 save percentage and two shutouts, allowing just one goal on 68 shots as the Rivermen sailed into first place in the AHL’s West Division.

Bacashihua began the week by stopping 27 of 28 shots in a 5-1 victory at San Antonio on Friday night. In Saturday’s rematch with the Rampage, Bacashihua turned back 19 shots in a 6-0 triumph, and he followed that up with his second consecutive shutout a night later, making 21 saves in a 4-0 win over Houston on home ice.

In recognition of his achievement, Bacashihua will be presented with an etched crystal award prior to an upcoming Rivermen home game.

A native of Garden City, Mich., the 23-year-old Bacashihua owns a perfect 5-0-0 record for Peoria in 2005-06, with a 1.80 GAA and a .932 save percentage. A first-round pick by Dallas in the 2001 NHL Entry Draft, Bacashihua owns a record of 54-51-8 with 10 shutouts in 119 career AHL contests.

Other nominees for CCM Vector/AHL Player of the Week include Albany goaltender Frank Doyle, Binghamton center Steve Martins, Bridgeport center Wyatt Smith, Chicago left wing Brian Maloney, Cleveland defenseman Matt Carkner, Grand Rapids left wing Jiri Hudler, Hamilton defenseman Ron Hainsey, Hartford goaltender Al Montoya, Hershey center Joey Tenute, Houston center Petr Taticek, Iowa left wing Mathias Tjarnqvist, Lowell right wing Chad Larose, Manchester left wing Jeff Tambellini, Manitoba left wing Alexandre Burrows, Milwaukee goaltender Pekka Rinne, Norfolk center Martin St. Pierre, Portland left wing Dustin Penner, Providence center Nathan Robinson, Rochester forward Jason Pominville, San Antonio left wing Steve Gainey, Springfield right wing Jim Campbell, Syracuse center Geoff Platt and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton left wing Tomas Surovy.