Bridgeport’s Ness added to All-Star roster

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Bridgeport Sound Tigers defenseman Aaron Ness has been added to the Eastern Conference roster for the 2015 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino, set for Jan. 25-26 in Utica, N.Y. 

In addition, the AHL announced that Bridgeport defenseman Ryan Pulock will miss the event due to injury. 

Ness, 24, is in his fourth professional season after being drafted by the New York Islanders in the second round (40th overall) of the 2008 NHL Entry Draft. Ness has five goals and 17 assists for 22 points and a plus-5 rating in 35 games this year for Bridgeport, where he serves as team captain. A native of Roseau, Minn., Ness has appeared in 29 career NHL games with the Islanders, totaling one goal and two assists. 

A very limited number of tickets remain available for the 2015 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino. They can be purchased in person at the Utica Memorial Auditorium box office (10-4 ET), by phone at 800-693-8000 or online at Tickets for the two-day event are priced as low as $69 and include admission to both the All-Star Skills Competition at 8 p.m. on Jan. 25 and the All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Jan. 26

In addition, complimentary tickets for the AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony are available by visiting the Turning Stone Resort Casino box office (10 a.m. – 8 p.m. ET) or by phone at 877-833-7469. The AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, to be held in The Showroom at Turning Stone Resort Casino at 11 a.m. on Jan. 26, will feature the induction of Frederic Cassivi, James C. Hendy, Bronco Horvath and Art Stratton as the AHL Hall of Fame Class of 2015 and will also celebrate honorary All-Star Classic captains Bill Guerin and Eric Weinrich. 

The 2015 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League: Of the 644 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 94 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice BergeronBen BishopRyan CallahanZdeno CharaLogan CoutureJimmy HowardChris KunitzRyan MillerGustav NyquistZach PariseTuukka RaskPekka RinneBobby RyanMartin St. LouisCory SchneiderPatrick SharpJason SpezzaEric Staal and P.K. Subban.