Bruins wrap up overall points title

By virtue of their 5-3 win over Springfield combined with Texas’s 4-3 loss to Houston, the Providence Bruins clinched the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy as the AHL’s regular-season points champions for 2012-13 on Friday night.

The Bruins will be the top seed in the Eastern Conference during the 2013 Calder Cup Playoffs and will own home-ice advantage for as long as they advance.

This is the Bruins’ second Kilpatrick Trophy. They finished first overall in 1998-99, then went on to win the Calder Cup that spring.

At 48-21-0-5 (101 points), Providence has topped the 100-point mark for the fourth time in franchise history, and with two games remaining can still reach 50 wins for the third time ever.