Locke, Tenute added to Canadian All-Star Classic roster

08allstar-rbk.jpgSPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Hamilton Bulldogs forward Corey Locke and San Antonio Rampage forward Joey Tenute have been added to the Canadian AHL All-Star roster for the 2008 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Reebok, to take place Jan. 27-28 in Binghamton, N.Y.

Canadian All-Stars Ryan O’Byrne of Hamilton (Montreal) and Joel Perrault of San Antonio (Phoenix) will miss the event due to recall to their respective National Hockey League affiliates.

Locke, 23, currently leads the Bulldogs in goals (14), assists (18) and points (32) while skating in 37 AHL games. The native of Newmarket, Ont., also led Hamilton with 22 points in 22 games during the 2007 postseason, leading the Bulldogs to their first Calder Cup championship. Locke, who also participated in the 2006 AHL All-Star Classic in Winnipeg, became the franchise’s all-time scoring leader earlier this season and made his NHL debut with Montreal on Jan. 8 vs. Chicago.

Tenute, 24, is in his third AHL season and first in San Antonio, where he currently leads the Rampage with 15 goals and ranks second on the team with 28 points in 39 games. A native of Hamilton, Ont., Tenute spent the last two seasons with the Hershey Bears, winning a Calder Cup championship in 2006 and returning to the Finals in 2007.

The 2008 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Reebok will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in the 2008 CCM AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Sunday, January 27 (7:00 ET), and the 2008 AHL All-Star Game on Monday, January 28 (7:00 ET). The event will be televised live on Rogers Sportsnet in Canada and on a network of regional broadcast partners in the United States. It will also be offered at no charge on B2 Networks’ broadband video webcast at theahl.com.

Of the 427 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Brad Boyes, Daniel Briere, Zdeno Chara, Jonathan Cheechoo, Pavol Demitra, Rick DiPietro, Patrik Elias, Ray Emery, Jiri Hudler, Miikka Kiprusoff, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal and Steve Sullivan.